Dr. Ralph L. Sacco Named President-Elect of American Academy of Neurology

Adding to an already illustrious list of awards and accomplishments, Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., professor and Chairman of Neurology and Olemberg Family Chair of Neurological Disorders, has been named President-Elect of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN). Sacco was unanimously elected to the two-year position during the AAN’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on April 20.

In this position, which takes effect immediately, Sacco will help lead the world’s largest professional association of neurologists with 28,000 U.S. and international members. He will be responsible for appointing hundreds of academy members to leadership activities, attending numerous committee meetings, and shaping the future of neurological care, education, and research on behalf of the AAN. Following two years as President-Elect, Sacco will become President in 2017-19, followed by two years as the immediate Past President.

“I am extremely honored to be selected to this national position,” said Sacco. “With nearly 50 million people in the U.S. with neurological disorders, it is critical that we continue to promote the highest quality care, expand our patient care teams, and broaden the scope of the practice of neurology to include prevention, intervention and recovery.”

Robert C. Griggs, M.D., Past President of the AAN, said Sacco was elected because he has a superb vision for the academy. “Clearly, he is an outstanding leader who already had vast experience in academy activities and was equally skilled in the practice and research of neurology.”

Sacco is an internationally renowned neurologist and professor of public health sciences, human genetics and neurological surgery. He has published extensively in the areas of stroke prevention, treatment, risk factors, outcomes, disparities, and genetics and is also Chief of the Neurology Service at Jackson Memorial Hospital. A leading author of numerous evidence-based neurologic and cardiac guidelines, Sacco has received the Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke from the American Heart Association (AHA) and in 2010-11 was the first neurologist to serve as the national President of the AHA.

“This is yet more national recognition of the leadership and expertise that Ralph Sacco brings to the field of neurology,” said Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the Miller School of Medicine and CEO of UHealth. “We are privileged to have him leading our clinical and scientific discoveries made here at UHealth.”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *